B&W challenges- lines and angles

The Voortrekker monument in Pretotia, South Africa is BIG!
Made of granite it measures 40mx40mx40m (130'x130'x130'). Building commenced in 1937 and was opened in 1949. In July 2011 is received the designation of national heritage site.
The monument commemorates the Voortrekkers (literally 'those in front who pull'). The Great trek saw more than 2500 Dutch pioneering families leave the Cape Colony and travel into the African interior between 1835 and 1845.
It's very difficult to give a true representation of size, and yes it is austere, but I was totally awestruck !

I hope you'll agree that it fits the bill for cee's lines and angles challenge

With thanks to Cee for the theme of this challenge Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Lines and Angles | Cee's Photography

Anne

If you like what you see please think about following me on Instagram @vannilla

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

9 thoughts on “B&W challenges- lines and angles”

  1. We’ve been out of SA for 15 years now so I only shake my head when I see and read of all the ongoings. The way of Africa, I call it… similar to chaos theory! No, the definition of chaos theory! Alas… there is so much hatred in SA, it stems from ignorance and it’s flames are fanned by the so called leaders of democracy! Evil!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for expressing your views so passionately. I am totally fed up with some people doing all they can to rewrite history. The fiasco at oriel college Oxford and the Cecil Rhodes statue being a case in point. I had no idea there was a movement to tear down this awesome monument – you’d think there were better to expend your energies on.
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Many want to tear that place down… not me, I’m a Saffer in the real sense of the work… of Boer blood… the folk who died for their freedom in that great land! That place is like a shrine to the bravery and shear guts of my forefathers! In the USA the pioneers are revered… in SA they are now reviled! So sad!!

    Liked by 1 person

i'd love to hear from you...

