Discover Guernsey

It is very common for residents to know less about a location than tourists. I am personally guilty of treating familiar places with less interest than those I travel thousands of miles to visit. My photo blog is very heavenly biased towards Arizona and the South West of the US because when I am there we always DO SOMETHING! Here in Guernsey, the camera is taken out less often, and if it is taken on a dog walk it has tended to be an iPhone. I intend to put this right, posting a mini series of dog walks which I hope you enjoy. Millions of people have been to the Grand Canyon but very few have been or will ever come to the little island of Guernsey, part of the Channel Islands.

Mappery.com
Today we are in the north of the island at Pembroke Bay. It was COLD hence no one one the beach- not even dog walkers, as we dog walker are not allowed on the beach May through September . Many (crazy) people swim throughout most of the year in the sea- believe me it doesn't ever get warm.
Wild orchids
At Pembroke we can see Martello towers which are apparently not Martello towers! Between 1778 and 1779 the British built 15 loophole towers in various strategic coastal positions to defend against a possible invasion by those pesky French – only joking! My American readers may be more aware of the relevance of the dates- the French had thrown in their lot with the Americans against the British so relations were hardly chummy! The napoleonic wars (1803-1815) hastened additional work on some of these loophole towers – to bring the technology of war up to date I expect. During the occupation by German Forces during the Second World War monumental quantities of concrete were poured into defences- these are ugly and functional, so there is no confusion with the loophole towers of a much earlier period. I am sure you'll be able to identify each in the shots which follow.

The umbrellas are up- all we now now is the temperature to rise...
I'm bemused by how exactly paint stops climbing???
A loophole tower
WW2 concrete German fortification

...no dogs....and no people.....
Phoebe thinks this is a nice spot for a rest...

Have a wonderful day.

Anne

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

2 thoughts on “Discover Guernsey”

  1. Thank you for the little tour and I look forward to more. I Google mapped Guernsey after you and I met. I didn’t realize it’s not that far from France. Bring on the geography lessons 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

i'd love to hear from you...

