V is for Verde valley, Verde canyon, Verde train

 
 
 

Train journeys – ah….Train journeys. I won't mention the NY to Chicago – no best not; the Verde Valley one now that was very nice. It didn't beat the Cumbes and Toltec, but it was very pleasant. I guess it's a case of if you see or do the best one first all the others are pale imitations.

The Verde valley is in Central Arizona so only about 100 miles north of Poenix. The Verde canyon railroad trip was very well organised and staffed by exceptionally well informed people. The first class carriage is very nice with easy chairs so if you book well ahead and want to pay a bit more I'd say it's good value. If you are in the Sedona area and want to do something a little different I would recommend it. I love how you always get to meet interesting people on trains- it's a good thing as there is no escape 🙂

Honanki ruins were once inhabited by the Yavapai – now, is that too good a Y to not return to?!

 

So while I'm grateful that the Verde valley offered me a V I am sad I couldn't have offered you the vermillion cliffs- they are soooooo on my bucket list and pretty difficult to get to- maybe one day.

The Verde valley Arizona is not to be confused with the Mesa Verde, Colorado. The latter didn't get a mention under M but it remains one of my absolute favourite places in the South West.

In response in Blogging from A to Z April Challenge

What can the last week of April hold in store with W, X, Y & Z?

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

3 thoughts on “V is for Verde valley, Verde canyon, Verde train”

  1. Well it is an obvious and wonderful Z but I wasn’t digital (photography) when we were there and I haven’t got round to digitalising those albums. So sadly no. Zion is actually my favourite in that area.

    Like

i'd love to hear from you...

