White Andalusian village- Gaucin

The cork harvest leaves a clear line

Is it possible for a village to be just too photogenic? Ridiculous, I know, but when your cache of shots is 600+ after just a few days, I yearn for film in the camera to restrain my clicking, because I wouldn't be able to afford the developing!

Here's my peek at the beautiful Andalusian village of Gaucin. The narrow, steep streets are tightly packed with white buildings where residents let abundant flower pots flow onto the streets. These are streets for smart cars and make guernsey driving feel like motorways! It is a destination where you take courses in art, writing, or walk. The terrain is hilly so walks can be very strenuous for those who chose it. Oak trees which supply cork are in abundance and these look quite odd with the clear line where the 10 year cycle of harvest ends.

Gibraltar is closer by road, than Malaga, but the politics involved in that border with Spain make the travel time from the airport a matter of luck. That and the timing of flights to Gibraltar from London make Malaga a more popular choice. The road journey from the coast up into the mountains is interesting- it is not a lot short of 2 hours, and once you head inland leaving the motorway, the road is quite bumpy and twisty.

Simply beautiful and if you are planning to walk I think October is probably the perfect time.

Thanks for looking!

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

2 thoughts on “White Andalusian village- Gaucin”

i'd love to hear from you...

