Brighton-a real delight!

Last weekend was one of contrasts- quintessential Sussex village and Glyndebourne opera followed by Brash, kiss-me-quick South Coast Brighton. This was my first time in Brighton and the sky leaden,threatening sky was typical for a bank holiday weekend. The good thing was it didn’t come down in bucket loads and it gave me great shots.

Brighton Royal Pavilion (built 1787-1823) was the first stop, and it is a WOW! The prince regent, later to become George IV loved his getaway, designed by John Nash, but much later Queen Victoria felt exactly the opposite about the pavilion and abandoned it for royal use. Happily the government finally agreed to sell it to Brighton city. Many of the interior fittings were moved to other palaces, but it is still a very worthwhile tour. Sadly no photographs are allowed inside – I can’t understand this policy, especially as an increasing number of museums and galleries around the world seem capable of enforcing selective ‘no photography’ policies for items on loan, etc etc. people don’t need to use a flash and are aware that the shot will generally be inferior- get your act together Brighton!

So here is the outside

 

After the royal place a walk though hundreds of super cute cafés, bars, bistros and restaurant- I honestly don’t think I have ever come across a higher density of coffee bars and tea houses anywhere in the world, the the standard was very high.

Brighton has everything you’d expect to find in a seaside resort, piers, fun fares, street entertainers, hen and stag parties, ice cream, people swimming in freezer water and stony beaches! I hope the following give you flavour, if you have never experienced it.

Old burned out pier
Go pink!

The grand hotel, sadly infamous for the IRA bombing in 1984, at the Conservative party conference.

Sand sculpture

Have a great day!

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

4 thoughts on “Brighton-a real delight!”

i'd love to hear from you...

