Canyon de Chelly

Canyon de Chelly (pronounced shay) is in Navajo nation territory in Northern Arizona. I think it is off the beaten track for many travellers who have the Grand Canyon, monument valley and the canyons of Utah on their list. My last visit, in July, was as jaw dropping as the previous two because we organised a tour of the canyon floor. I have to thank a wonderful wordpress blogger for alerting me to fact that it was possible to do such a thing. When I saw her photographs with a fabulous perspective from the canyon floor, I knew that had to be incorporated into my next visit. It is possible to book sunrise and sunset tours but we chose a late afternoon tour which lasted about 3 hours.

I'll let the photographs speak for themselves. Rock formations are so varied and each spectacular in its own way. Only Navajo guides whose close family have recently or currently live on the canyon floor can take the tour, so you will learn about it from the horse's mouth, so to speak. The canyon floor used to be significantly higher, so it is difficult to judge just just how far off the canyon floor the dwellings were when they were inhabited.

The canyon floor is subject to flash floods and vehicles do occasionally get caught in it- best to run for higher ground, methinks

If you prefer to take the tour on horse back that is also possible. There is only one trail you are allowed to walk without a guide but personally I think it would safer and you will learn so much of the history of the canyon that it is well worth the it.

Thanks for stopping by.

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

i'd love to hear from you...

