Traditions

Traditional Navajo flutes
Grandmothers

Just back from a visit to canyon de chelly – this part of Northern Arizona is often missed by tourists who 'do' the iconic sights of the Grand Canyon and monument valley, but they might be missing the best! This is my third visit but the first time we did the canyon floor tour- and that was as a result of seeing a fellow wordpress blogger's post. How I love the wordpress community, sharing their wonderful photography and experiences!

Sue has given us 'tradition' as this week's challenge and some of the Navajo traditions so evident on this trip seemed an obvious choice. In Navajo society ( maybe in all Native American societies, I don't know) the grandmother is the pivotal family member. Our guide, in common with many of her generation, was keen to stress this fact and by coincidence I saw an exhibition of grandmother portraits in The View at monument valley.

These are two ancient traditions but bringing it up to modern times I was fascinated by the charming old chap at monument valley who was embracing the tradition of the selfie- What do you think?

Selfies- a modern tradition?

A Word in Your Ear | Stories and Photographs of my travels

Have a great day- full of traditions 🙂

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

4 thoughts on “Traditions”

  1. Absolutely! We arranged a trip late in the afternoon, so the light was superb. They will also do a sun up tour . Personally I’m not sure I’d want to be on the canyon floor in the pitch black- but I’m a wimp! You are right, it’s the same ‘deal’ guide-wise at antelope canyon and monument valley.

    Like

  2. Sounds like Antelope Canyon and most of Monument Valley in regards to the Navajo. Outshines the Grand Canyon? Then I must make it a priority. I’ll be sure and let you know when we’re back in AZ so you can share any more tidbits with me 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you Ingrid. You will have to call in next time you are heading for Colorado from phoenix. My husband thinks it outshines the Grand Canyon. Doing the canyon floor is highly regulated / only Navajo with family links to the floor are allowed to take you in. Anne

    Like

  4. Love it 🙂 Canyon de Chelly has been on my radar for a while. Perhaps next spring I’ll be able to put it on the itinerary. If I do, I might be asking for recommendations.

    Like

i'd love to hear from you...

