Philadelphia murals

Many cities and indeed towns have embraced the trend for show stopping murals, but a trip to Philadelphia last week, left me in awe of their superlative civic effort to be #1 in this art form. They have a long organised community effort to turn graffiti strewn walls into works of art and wow! Have they succeeded. We only scraped the surface- estimates differ, but one tour guide claimed there were almost 4000 murals around the city. If you, like us, were trying to pack in too much into four days, take the one mile mural tour in the heart of the city, and use the phone app.

It's hard to take in the sheer size and perspective of the larger one, and even a very wide angle lens doesn't seem to do it justice.

The flatness of the the photographs belies the fact that many have wonderful trompe l'oeil effect.

Many a weaving an intricate story of the city's history, justice, life and beauty- it really is more than an hour or two out of your day.

I will certainly need a return visit to explore these works much more fully.

I hope I have managed to give a taste of the variety and depth of some the work on show.

Have a great week!

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

5 thoughts on “Philadelphia murals”

i'd love to hear from you...

