Chicago – living up to its reputation

If you travel enough stuff happens- fact! My first trip to Chicago was hit by lost bags from Europe, horrible journey on Amtrak cardinal from New York, 'top' hotel lacking a few essentials, and FREEZING wind and snow. Maybe April isn't the best time to catch Chicago with good walking and exploring weather but at least it had wonderful museums.

None of this dented the wish to return at another time of year and see more or what what the feel of a great city. The abundance of public art, statement architecture, and friendly buzz was a winning formula. So here goes with a some of my favourite shots.

 

I love the sign!

The 'bean' in millennium park is so very photogenic.

 

111/365

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

8 thoughts on “Chicago – living up to its reputation”

  1. It was way colder than we anticipated, which makes is sound like wimps but locals say they have had the longest, coldest winter in a long time. Would like to revisit when the temperature is higher. Thanks so much for your kind comments. 🙂

    Like

  2. What fun to see!! My daughter lives in Chicago– so I recognized some of your pictures–all beautiful. I agree– the bean is pretty irresistible to photographers! Hope you had a great visit…

    Like

  3. Thank you! As I say in the post we would pick a more reliable time (weather wise ) to revisit but certainly smitten. Good luck with the healing process. Thanks for visiting both my blogs 🙂

    Like

  4. Ah, fond memories of my hometown. My favs are the Art museum, Field museum, and over all architecture of the city. Recommend a summer visit next time. Great photos capturing the feel of the city.

    Like

i'd love to hear from you...

