Tuscan road trip #1

Reducing about a thousand photographs to a couple of dozen suitable for blogging is a daunting task- hence my August road trip from Guernsey to Florence being posted so many weeks later.

First up- and not in order of travel- is Lyon, France. I had heard that Lyon was special, not least because the French call it their culinary capital- wow! It is a city overflowing with amazing statues and public spaces, stunning historic buildings and cathedrals, and of course the traboules hidden passages.

 

This tree's hanging seed pods were quite incredible.

Narrow steep stairways are in abundance, allowing you to get around on foot in a much more direct way than by car.

Once at the Basilica of Notre Dame de Fourvière you can enjoy panoramic views of the city.

Spot the little having a cool off!

Get a map of the traboules secret passages to uncover these historic places. We came across a lot of locked doors so the map isn't always reliable.

Lyon is really worth visiting. The December Festival of Lights is now firmly on my wish list.

Thanks for visiting!

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

i'd love to hear from you...

