Natural wonders 5

Rainbow bridge rock

My journey travels ( sorry, but with EVERYBODY on the planet and especially on the X factor having a journey, it can't be that) continue to the magnificent rainbow bridge national monument.

This rock formation, sacred to the indigenous Navajo Indians, self evidently has the WOW! factor. Access is via a boat on lake Powell and while rainbow rock itself is in Utah, you may well have boarded in Arizona, since the state line cuts through lake Powell . Wahweap Marina offers a variety of tours with informative guides and well run tours.

Lake Powell
Sacred site to Navajo

Respect for Navajo tradition and sensitivities dictates that you don't walk under the 'bridge' so most recent photographs will be from this perspective. However old grainy black and white photos are often from the other side. Indeed I was told that until fairly recently you could even see it from a boat. Sadly, water levels in the lake have fallen to such an extent that you have a walk after mooring. If you go in summer, it will be HOT!

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

i'd love to hear from you...

