Natural wonders 4

Horseshoe bend

Horseshoe bend is one of the most visited parts of the Colorado river and a glance at the photograph above will tell you why. I have chosen this natural wonder

after my post on antelope canyon because you can relatively easily fit in trips to both. Just make sure you have a spare battery for the camera and plenty of space on your memory card!

Amazing sun shapes in antelope canyon

The parking area at horseshoe bend is some way from the point where the Colorado makes its 180° turn around. It gets VERY hot in the summer months so the sand and rock under foot will burn your feet if you are wearing flip flops or any open sandals. Walking on something akin to hot coals is clearly just for those in street entertainment so I recommend enclosed shoes/trainers and socks even though you are going to get sand in them. It's a kind of lose/ lose situation but well worth the hike. I actually witnessed an old lady pushing a stroller with a child in it plus two more holding the handles- not sure to this day, whether that was the day she had set out!

Power of the Colorado as it cuts its course

There's no health and safety barrier here. You do have to keep a hold of children and take care when photographing. I had never suffered vertigo before my trip to horseshoe bend but did have to beat a retreat from the edge and make use of the telephoto.

Old geography lessons came flooding back while taking in this breathtaking scenery. You won't understand why all the cars are parked at the side of the road and the sign is not very large, so it is possible to miss it. You will not be disappointed.

 

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

i'd love to hear from you...

