The day I missed the ferry….

Gunwarf quay Portsmouth

Living on an island has many benefits, but one of the downsides is transport- pretty much everything to do with transport, cost, convenience, service standards, weather!

 

Lined up against the chill wind

Once you hit the winter months getting to and from guernsey by boat ( something I only ever do if I have to take the car) is limited to intermittent fast ferries and the slow ferry on which the freight comes. This journey takes 7 hours from the south coast (Portsmouth) IF it is running to schedule and if it stops at guernsey before jersey. In contrast the fast ferry takes 2 and a half hours. A supposedly quick trip turned into an extra night in the UK as I missed the ferry thanks to the police closing part of an arterial route to the port the M27. Anyway bemoaning the creaking infrastructure of England is boring.The silver lining was a chance to take a few photographs in and around Portsmouth docks and quays – even though it was officially 5°C but with the wind chill felt more like -5°C.

Pity I couldn't have waited till may 2013 to get stranded though as the purpose built Mary Rose museum is being opened to the public then. Having visited the Vassar museum in Stockholm a few years ago I hope the British will pull all the stops to make a worthy home for the famous old ship.

Old model of the Mary rose in the old museum

 

 

 

The new Mary Rose museum, due to open in may 2013, promises to be a major attraction for visitors to Portsmouth. Developers have rather cleverly attracted many big name retailers to an outlet mall and this is well served by rail. It is a stone's throw from the naval docks housing HMS warrior, HMS victory and the new museum purpose built for the sixteenth century Mary Rose.

 

 
Cafe culture when the weather improves

 

Crocuses a sign of spring? Not according to weather.
Time for a bite

I could have photoshopped the sky but that wasn't what it was like. I imagine it would be quite an attractive spot when the sun shines.

Published by

vannillarock

Welcome to my blog! After a L O N G break from blogging during which Instagram (vannilla)took over my life, I am returning in a more varied format. Yes, I will bake and have been a Thermomix users from the days before it was cult-like. I'll share the best but I will also include that other hobby in my life, photography from my small island and beyond. If you like what you see, I'd love to hear from you! Anne

i'd love to hear from you...

